Cog project

in What are you working on? Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:56 am
by Denis • 11 Posts

Started to work on the 1/72 scale cog which is more like 1/64. Got a series of figures from Valdemar. I finished the deck using wood from thin planks obtained from model expo. Got rd of those pesky mold imprint that mare most of the parts. The deck was stained using oil paint then sealed with a product known in the US as Danish Oil. The plastic parts were painted freehand using Liquitex paint. Then I airbrushed the liquitex which at that stage is fairly translucent and tone down the contrast between the plastic color and the paint.
The figures are a daunting task as I am used to 90mm and occasionally 54mm this is my first try at this scale. The Teutonic Knight are always been my center of interest and I am planning to have the cog integrated in a harbor scene (being loaded for an expedition farther up the Baltic). I would like to include some city walls and a medieval crane !
But my next step will be the rigging and the furled sail of the cog, this will not pose too much problem having rigged a few large ships such as the Bounty and Soleil Royal.
I have been long winded but it is nice to be a part of this group that share the same interests. So hello to everyone and happy modeling!

Scroll up

RE: Cog project

in What are you working on? Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:59 pm
by Paul´s Bods • 1.314 Posts

Hi Dennis and welcome to THE forum for medieval modelling fans.
Which Cog..the one from Zvezda/Revell? As you say..it isn´t 1772nd but about 1/56 but still a nice looking ship.
I look forward to you posting pics of your work..

Scroll up

in What are you working on? Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:30 pm
by Valdemar • 2.175 Posts

Hi Denis,

Welcome, look forward to seeing some images

Best regards

ValdemarMiniatures.com

Scroll up

in What are you working on? Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:26 pm
by Denis • 11 Posts